Arena Football League

Ranking the ArenaBowls, #19: ArenaBowl XXIII

ArenaBowl XXIII was a special game. It was the first ArenaBowl since the league cancelled the 2009 season. The 2010 season was looked at as a new era in the AFL. The Spokane Shock and Tampa Bay Storm were facing off in the big game.

Tampa scored first when fullback Eric Ortiz ran the ball in from three yards out. Spokane quarterback Kyle Rowley found Huey Whittaker for a seven yard touchdown to bring them within one at the end of one.

Rowley would find Markee White on two touchdown drives – both ending in four yard touchdown passes – to give Spokane a 20-7 lead. After going back and forth most of the second quarter, Terrance Royal scored to give Tampa a 28-27 lead with just 15 seconds left in the first half. A 22-yard touchdown from Rowley to White as time expired gave Spokane a 34-28 halftime lead.

The Storm scored to take the lead to start the third quarter. That’s when Spokane went on a 21-0 run through the third and fourth quarter. They opened up a 55-35 lead. Despite Tampa scoring three touchdowns in the fourth, it was too little too late.

The Shock went on to win ArenaBowl XXIII 69-57. In their first and only ArenaBowl appearance, they were crowned champions.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s