Arena Football League

Ranking the ArenaBowls, #20: ArenaBowl XXI

The San Jose Sabercats and Columbus Destroyers faced off in ArenaBowl XXI at the Smoothie King Center in New Orleans, LA. San Jose was looking for their third title in franchise history. Columbus was playing in their first ever ArenaBowl.

San Jose running back Brian Johnson ran in for a four yard touchdown to give the Sabercats a 7-0 lead. Columbus struck back with a one yard touchdown run from Harold Wells. San Jose took the lead back when Mark Greib found James Roe for a touchdown. They held their 14-7 lead after the first quarter.

The two teams batted it out in the second quarter, as well. With a six-point lead with three minutes left in the first half, Grieb found George Williams III for a touchdown to give San Jose a 27-14 halftime lead.

Columbus wouldn’t go away in the second half. Quarterback Matt Nagy threw three touchdowns to three different receivers in the third and fourth quarters. While his performance was impressive, their defense wasn’t. San Jose would score following each Columbus score and never gave in.

The Sabercats would go on to win ArenaBowl XXI by a final score of 55-33. The win was their third title in franchise history. Greib (218 passing yards, four touchdowns) was named the game’s MVP.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s