National Arena League

Jacksonville Sharks Defeat Columbus Lions 27-21 to Win National Arena League Title

The Jacksonville Sharks hosted the Columbus Lions in the National Arena League title game on Monday night. This was the third meeting between the two teams.

Jacksonville scored first with a one-yard rushing touchdown from Derrick Ross. After three combined turnovers, the Sharks held their 7-0 lead at the end of the first quarter.

The next score came 10 minutes into the second quarter. Damien Fleming threw a backward pass to Maurice Williams, who threw a touchdown pass to Moqut Ruffins. The extra point was no good, and the Sharks lead was 13-0.

Jacksonville was looking to go up 20-0 before the end of the half, but Kyle Griswould recorded his 11th interception of the season, intercepting a Fleming pass in the end zone with just nine seconds left in the half. The Sharks would keep their 13-0 lead at halftime.

Columbus got on the board with a deep touchdown pass from Mason Espinosa to Tristan Purifoy. Jacksonville would strike back with three minutes left in the third with a touchdown from Jason Boltus to Williams.

With three minutes left and the Sharks leading 27-21, Boltus threw an interception in the end zone and the Lions had the ball at the one minute warning. With four seconds left, Espinosa fumbled the snap and Jacksonville recovered to clinch a 27-21 victory in the National Arena League title game.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s