Arena Football League Baltimore Brigade Cleveland Gladiators Philadelphia Soul Tampa Bay Storm

Arena Football League to Stream Five Games on Twitter

The Arena Football League will begin streaming games on Twitter beginning this weekend, the league announced on Thursday morning. The first ever Arena Football League game streamed on Twitter will be the Tampa Bay Storm against the Baltimore Brigade.

Only five games will be streamed on Twitter in 2017. Next weekend’s game between the Philadelphia Soul and Cleveland Gladiators, the June 16 game between Baltimore and Cleveland, a July 8 game between Cleveland and Tampa and a July 29 game between Philadelphia and Baltimore will be the other four games streamed on Twitter.

“Entering into this relationship with Twitter is a significant development in expanding the Arena Football League’s digital platform,” AFL commissioner Scott Butera said in a statement. “With over 300 million Twitter users worldwide, we believe they will enjoy the nonstop, edge of your seat AFL action and have many opportunities to network with players, coaches and other fans in what is the nation’s most interactive sport.

“In addition to working with Twitter, the AFL has also grown its digital presence with a new website, an app available on iOS and Android platforms, streaming live games on AFLNow and a bi-weekly podcast.”

“We are thrilled to partner with the Arena Football League to bring their exciting brand of live football to fans globally on Twitter,” Twitter chief operating officer Anthony Noto said. ” “AFL fans can now watch live games anywhere in the world on the same platform where the AFL conversation is already happening.”

In their 30th season, the league has five teams competing for the Foster Trophy. One game a week is broadcast on CBS Sports Network. The other game is usually broadcast on Facebook live. As of recently, however, fans could watch games live on Facebook for free. Now, they must have a subscription to watch the game.

The Soul are the defending ArenaBowl champions. They will be looking to hold off the other four teams and become the first repeat champion since the Arizona Rattlers won three straight from 2012-2014.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s