2017 National Arena League Preview

The National Arena League will be entering their inaugural season in 2017. There will be eight teams playing in the first season. Most of the teams call the east coast home, including now three teams in the state of Georgia.

The league was originally called the Arena Development League, but the name was later changed to the National Arena League.

The Corpus Christi Rage are the one team that doesn’t play on the east coast in the USA. There is also a team that will play in Mexico. The Monterrey Steel are the lone team that won’t call the USA home.

The most noticeable team is the Jacksonville Sharks. They are coming from the Arena Football League, where they competed with the big dogs. The Columbus Lions are coming off two championships in two different leagues, including an undefeated season in 2016.

The Georgia Firebirds and Lehigh Valley Steelhawks, as well as the Lions, are coming to the NAL from the American Indoor Football Association (AIFA), an indoor football league that folded after just one season.

The season kicks off on March 17 when the Lions host the Sharks. The season will span from March to June. The playoffs begin the first week of July with the championship game scheduled to be played around July 8.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s