Beijing Lions Chinese Arena Football League Qingdao Clipper

Beijing Lions Beat Qingdao Clipper to Win China Bowl I

The Beijing Lions and the Qingdao Clipper faced off on Sunday in China Bowl I. Whichever team won would be crowned the first ever China Arena Football League champion.

Beijing struck first when Luke Collis found Collin Taylor for a touchdown. The extra point was no good. Qingdao took a 7-6 lead after Bryan Randall found Xavier Boyce for a score.

Taylor scored his second touchdown in the second quarter to give the Lions the lead again. Qingdao struck back with a touchdown from Randall to Reggie Gray. A Collis touchdown pass to their other quarterback, Chris Dieker, as time expired in the first half gave Beijing a 19-14 halftime lead.

Both teams scored a touchdown in the third quarter. In the fourth, Qingdao took a 34-32 lead when Randall found Boyce for another touchdown.

There were four seconds left when Beijing kicker Patrick Clarke III attempted a 16-yard field goal. The kick was no good and it looked as if Qingdao had pulled off the upset.

However, an illegal corner blitz on Qingdao gave Beijing one untimed down. Clarke made the field goal and Beijing won China Bowl I by a final score of 35-34. The Lions cap off a perfect season with a title.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s